batskeets: (ken)
[personal profile] batskeets
The entirety of Serial Experiments Lain, for $19.99?! My patience has finally been rewarded! ([livejournal.com profile] muerte: thanks for the tip! :D) I must resist the urge to look around much more, lest I wind up buying a bunch of things that I can't afford.

So, yes, I'm thinking that an anime night needs to happen soon, because I have several things that I'd like to (re-)watch. I'm just not sure when, exactly. If I don't set down a date, I'll probably never get to watch them, because lord knows how busy I get. ^^;

So I kind of half-watched The Ring today, because after seeing Ringu several months ago, I was kind of curious about what differences there were. Ringu laid the story down in a clearer way, but The Ring was more visually appealing, I think. They're both spooky as all get out, though!

I find it hilarious actually trying to explain this movie to anyone who doesn't know about it, though: "uh, yeah, basically there's this evil videotape, and anyone who watches it dies afterwards!" It sounds like the most ridiculous concept, on a basic level. Once you see the movie and the full scope of the story, however, it's just CREEPY. I remember walking out to the car by myself, after seeing Ringu, and having to repeatedly supress the urge to look over my shoulder. That's pretty hardcore. Or, I could just be a big wussy. ;p

Anyway, I should get back to my HW, so I'm out.

Date: 2003-10-13 04:12 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aquatwo.livejournal.com
The Ring is deinfately a more polished piece (Hollywood did well on this one) and borrows a bit from Ringu 2 (you know what i mean, don't wanna give spoilers here). Ringu though gains something from it's roughness, Sadako is just that much MORE than Samara... the creepy factor. *shudder*

Date: 2003-10-13 04:14 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dakania.livejournal.com
Dude, $23.99 after shipping?

I want I want! ~pleading eyes~

MAN!

Date: 2003-10-13 05:28 am (UTC)
wednesday: (Default)
From: [personal profile] wednesday
BOOTLEG. That Lain is region-free. There isn't such a beast available legally.

Date: 2003-10-13 08:28 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] threeleet.livejournal.com
The whole thing for $24, in 2 volumes? Nuh-uh. That spells Taiwanese bootleg version. Those come in CD-size cases & probably have substandard artwork, maybe even horridly-done subtitles.

Date: 2003-10-13 09:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] addwag.livejournal.com
i hate creppy movies....

Date: 2003-10-13 09:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xplo.livejournal.com
Only girls think The Ring is scary. I don't know why, because there's nothing scary about it; it's every bit as retarded as it sounds.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios