batskeets: (finger)
[personal profile] batskeets
I am so ready to kill someone. Why? Mainly, because some random chick backed into my fscking car as I was leaving the Uni today. STAB!!!

No, the damage wasn't bad. There is some light scuffing on the corner of my bumper, and I don't know that you'd even notice unless you were looking for it. Her bumper looked a bit worse, but I'm guessing that's at least partly due to the fact that she had a light-coloured car, and mine is dark-coloured.

She kind of got in a snit about her bumper, was talking about having the body work done on it to get rid of the scratches, and she said she was going to file a report with the DMV. She was nice enough about it, though, and neither of us really knew what to do in this sort of situation, so we exchanged numbers and all that. I'm not sure what will come of it, really.

The good news is that, judging from the fact that my damage was on the corner, and her damage was in the middle of her bumper, that I was probably a bit farther into the process of backing out, so it could probably be said that she ran into me. Her words to me at the scene were, and I quote, "I wasn't looking," so she basically admitted that she wasn't driving responsibly.

I'm not really sure what to do, and unfortunately my parents are on the road somewhere between the East Coast and Portland, or else I'd be calling my dad to see how he thinks I should proceed. With luck, I can actually show it to him in a day or two, when I go up there to visit with them and go to the Wil Wheaton book signing.

Mostly, I'm just pissed that it happened at all. I don't even have license plates on the fscking car yet, and some idiot managed to blunder into it and scratch it up. That irritates me beyond words.

Random aside: upon reflection, I think she may also be a semi-frequent DDS rider, because her name sounds terribly familiar. ASKDFDSLFASKLHLK THAT FIGURES

Anyway, after that, I went to see if I could donate plasma, but found that I wouldn't be able to get done with it in time to give homey-C a ride to his appointment. So, I made an appointment to go back in and donate tomorrow morning, and I came home.

So yeah, this has been kind of a rotten luck day, so far. Fortunately, there aren't many more things for me to do today, so I can curl up in my little cave for the rest of the day. Well, until I work tonight, anyway. SIGH.

Date: 2003-08-12 04:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] theho.livejournal.com
You only have to file an accident report with DMV in Oregon if the damage is more than $1,000. So as long as you have her insurance information you should be able to have the repairs covered.

Date: 2003-08-12 06:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/axiom-/
In the future if the accident is serious enough to warrant a report filing the report is a measure to protect yourself... often if you neglect to file your end of the report and the other side files and claims you hit them... you can get blind sided. People rarely take names and numbers of witnesses unless the person is being an ass at the scene. On the other hand if you ever hit someone and you know it's 100% your fault... play nice and convince them not to file a report, then go file a report describing them as 100% at fault and uncooperative... then get a lawyer on it. They will be the ones forced to find a lawyer to talk to YOUR lawyer and often the first person to file wins the case without any other substantial evidence or witnesses. >_< Not that I think you would do such a thing... but it goes to show you what is possible =P

Date: 2003-08-13 02:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xplo.livejournal.com
Funny you should mention this.. I nearly got run over in another intersection today, once again because the dumb fucking driver didn't think to check if there was ANYTHING IN FRONT OF HER CAR before she took off. Fortunately, I had the presence of mind to yell "HEY!" a number of times, causing her to notice me and stop JUST before she hit me. She gives me this friendly smile as if to say "oops! sorry! tee hee!" and I respond by verbally ripping her a new asshole.

(Harsh? I don't think so. You get on the bike and I'll get in the car and blindly try to run you over like a dog and we'll see how you feel about it...)

Date: 2003-08-13 03:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
JESUS CHRIST!! Did they let all the idiots out of their fscking cages today or something?? GOD. Death is not an option. :p

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios