Yep, we've been snowed in since Thursday. I worked from home on Thursday, and the photoshoot and bouts I had on Friday and Saturday were postponed, so other than the trip to the store I made earlier today, we've been turtling. Yesterday and today were spent playing a lot of Civilization V, doing a bit of cooking, watching movies, and enjoying the fact that I have absolutely nowhere to be.
I got it in my head earlier today to get groceries at the Hawthorne New Seasons, and after maybe 60 seconds of driving in the snow, I said Eff This and went to the much-closer Fred Meyer on 82nd. Which, as it happens, was completely out of eggs--I had to buy Egg Beaters to use for breakfast tomorrow.
There was a karaoke birthday party this evening, but the sky has shifted from snow to freezing rain, which makes me say HELLS NO to driving. I was going to be training for a new part-time job tomorrow, but it seems that's postponed, too. No idea if Oaks will be open for endurance tomorrow, either. So, it might be another day in.
I have to admit that I enjoy the snow. Not just because of the built-in excuse to not go anywhere, but because it's so calm and quiet everywhere. Empty streets, muffled sounds, a landscape that looks strangely monochrome, there's nothing but the occasional gust of wind and the soft crunching of snow under your boots. It's rare that you get to have a moment as mellow as that.
Snowy weather also means: RIDICULOUS SCARF-HAT TIME. And that always requires some muppetface. ;)