May. 22nd, 2013

OH MY GOD

May. 22nd, 2013 05:14 pm
batskeets: (spoon)
Can I just say? Networking continues to be EXHAUSTING. I went to a luncheon today, and while I think things went mostly-well as far as engaging with people, I came away with the worst headache imaginable.

Related: maybe I'm just being a giant whiner, but a lot of times, I go to these things and start talking to someone, and I feel like things are starting off well... and then someone else (usually someone they've met before) comes up and essentially hijacks the person I'm talking to. At best, my train of thought gets lost and the flow of things gets all broken and awkward after the conversation hijacker leaves. At worst, they get wrapped up in talking to each other, and wander off as if I was never there.

First of all, what's the point of going to a networking event if you're going to just talk to people you already know? And second of all, what is it about me that makes people think it's okay to conversationally lawnmower over me? RUDE.

Completely unrelated except for being work-centric: I've proofed two recent shoots that have reminded me why I should never, ever let my clients pick their own models. The model I'm staring at right now is so overly-pose-y that it's hard to look at. Knees pointing one way, torso pointing another, AAAAUUUGGGGHH. Maybe that works for an avant-garde photoshoot, but this client is not even a little bit avant-garde. SIGH. I mean, I still got good shots, because I always do, but man, I'm really having to pick and choose.

In other, less complain-y news, I bouted last weekend, and, um, it didn't exactly go wonderfully. Well, okay, so that's not completely true. For me, personally, it was pretty good--I skated as well as I ever have. I also hit the other team's superstar, nigh-impossible-to-catch jammer out of bounds, so hey, DAY MADE. But, yeah, one of our regular jammers wasn't in the lineup, another had a bad night, one of our best blockers was out with a hamstring pull... throw in some pretty terrible ref calls (or non-calls, as the case may be), and long story short, we didn't win. But hey, we get a re-do on this one: we play the same team for the Championships title in just under three weeks.

SO, I've resolved to quit booze and dessert until Championships. The huge gap in our bouting schedule this season left me feeling adrift, at times, but now I'm so fired up to work my ass off and win that game that I can't even express it. SPORTS FEELINGS.

I am cognizant of the fact that I may not make that Championship roster--I'm an inexperienced rookie, and I know I got on Saturday's roster by the skin of my teeth. Hopefully, our injured blocker will be back in time for that game, and that alone could be enough to bump me off the roster. Still, I'm going to do my damnedest to make sure that I'm on it. Even if I don't make it, I'll be that much stronger when it's over.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:53 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios