Mar. 11th, 2011

This magical phrase was sent to me by my awesome boyfriend yesterday afternoon: "After that I could make you dinner." If that's not swoon-worthy, I don't know what is. ;)

Fred's threw a monkey wrench into his original plan for dinner, because they'd closed up their fish counter by the time I got up there post-derby, so no salmon for us. Still, he threw down some respectable asparagus, mushrooms, and chicken instead. It was fresh, healthy, and simple, and my tired-and-congested self was highly appreciative. It was also a nice reminder that not every meal needs to be a wild and crazy production in order to be damned tasty.

Speaking of derby, I really shouldn't judge myself based on my first practice after being sick, but uuuuggghh. Lots of falling all over the place last night, and I felt like a complete and utter trainwreck. The kicker? There was also a draft, so after practice, I watched as several girls celebrated getting picked for teams. I'm absolutely happy for them, but my ego didn't exactly deal with it well, especially seeing as one of the drafted girls is even newer to derby/RCR than I am. I think that's the first time I've felt anything other than excitement on behalf of my derby comrades, and I don't like feeling that way at all. Still, I'd really like to stop being a crappy skater, preferably while I'm still young. :p

ANYWAY, I also threw down MOAR BACON COOKIES yesterday afternoon, and mucked with the formula again. The cookies didn't spread as much, but I think the texture is finally exactly what I want it to be. I also documented the process this time, so I'll be blogging the hell out of this recipe very, very soon. Until then, we'll see what tonight's round of taste testers think!

And, because I have food on the brain, here's a pizza I photographed a couple of weeks ago. I got to take it home afterwards and eat some, and share the rest with the housemates. I really should consider chasing down paid gigs for food photography, because I could definitely get used to the perks.

Pizza!
batskeets: (finger)
Originally posted by [info]lavenderfrost at ...WTF.

Well, there goes my good mood for the day.

NYTimes, the bastion of quality reporting, reported on the gang-rape of an 11 year-old girl in Texas  that's led to charges against 18 high-school boys so far - all well and good so far, right?  Shit like this NEEDS publicity to raise awareness. 

Only problem is, they repeated - without refutation or critical commentary - the claims that the girl brought the rape on herself because of the way she was dressed.

Choice Quotes (No cut b/c everyone needs to see this - DEAL.):

“It’s just destroyed our community,” said Sheila Harrison, 48, a hospital worker who says she knows several of the defendants. “These boys have to live with this the rest of their lives.  As opposed to the victim, who's gonna bounce back lickety-fucking-split, right?

Residents in the neighborhood where the abandoned trailer stands — known as the Quarters — said the victim had been visiting various friends there for months. They said she dressed older than her age, wearing makeup and fashions more appropriate to a woman in her 20s. She would hang out with teenage boys at a playground, some said.  TOTALLY BEGGING FOR IT.

THIS IS RAPE CULTURE, PEOPLE.

Now, what's being said and done in this community is bad enough, but the NY Times should be fucking ashamed of themselves right now.

Here's how to contact NYT: )

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:28 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios