May. 19th, 2009

Shine on

May. 19th, 2009 10:55 am
It has only been a week or so, so this may be premature, but I must admit to being at least vaguely bummed that I haven't heard back about that application I sent out yet. Not horrendously discouraged, just concerned. I'll just have to keep saving up for my certification...

On a better note, crafting at [livejournal.com profile] sarapada's on Sunday was lovely, even though I haven't knit in several months. I'm *still* working on Serafin's scarf, and I started that thing last December when he didn't have any winter clothes and I wanted to help him not freeze to death. Hurhurhur. This is why you shouldn't ask me to knit you things. ;)

And even better: camping trip weekend after next! I'm actually going to skip wushu on Saturday to go on the trip, so y'all know I'm pumped about this.

Speaking of Serafin, he walked in a fashion show on Sunday evening, which was amusing. He was the only male model, and was wearing a dress designed by a friend of his, but he is a tiny, fey little Asian man, so he totally pulled it off. You could tell that he's a dancer, too, because he was working the salsa hip action on his runway walk, haha.

I did a shoot with a plus model yesterday, and she wasn't very experienced, but her starter portfolio pictures didn't do her hardly any justice. She had a much prettier face in person, and her eyes were each a different color! I really need to work with plus models more often, because I always enjoy it; maybe I'm just good at choosing the right ones, but they always bring great energy to set, and are genuinely excited to be doing what we're doing.

Usually, the plus girls are asked to be smiley and commercial by the industry, or they're asked by non-fashion photographers to do glamour work or art nudes. I realize that there aren't a lot of photographers doing what I do with full-figured models, and I know the industry isn't quite calling for it yet, but I love putting some edgy fashion flair on these ladies. They get such excitement out of it, and it's SO cool to watch that shine through. :)

Oh, nuts, I need to post my tracklist for the mix CD soon. [livejournal.com profile] typsie, I'll get on it after practice tonight. :D

P.S. I did Level 3 of 30 Day Shred for the first time yesterday, and HOLY JEEBUS it burned like hell. But I got through it, and I was expecting it to completely kick my ass. W00t!

Haaahaha.

May. 19th, 2009 03:05 pm
Oh MAN, I was at Zombie Prom for less than 2 hours, and my lame ass still wound up in Willamette Week:

OH SNAP )

I find this incredibly funny, for some reason. I wish I'd have stopped being emo long enough to get a picture from the front. ;p

(yes, I am lame and didn't have enough makeup to cover my back or arms. Although, if I'd known that Boy was going to bail on me, I suppose I'd have had enough to at least do my back. ZOMBIE FAIL)

EDIT: This guy had my favorite Zombie Prom costume, hands down: Spongebob Deadpants! XD

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 06:03 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios