Jul. 13th, 2005

batskeets: (ken)
I have three greeting cards to write.

One, to my trainer, who taught me a lot, and who helped me get some good results. After the way life has blown up into a giant mound of stressy/busy in recent months, I kind of just stopped coming in without any explanation. I want to write her a card, because I don't want her thinking that I left because I was dissatisfied. But, I feel like an ass for putting it off this long and not saying anything.

One, to my former apartment manager, who was a good guy who did his best to run our building on some very limited resources. Both James and I want to thank him for being such a cool manager. But, I feel like kind of an ass because, even *after* cleaning every evening for an entire week, we still left the apartment rather dirty. ^^;

One is a rather personal card, which I feel the need to write, to make someone feel that they aren't neglected or forgotten. But, again, I feel like kind of an ass, because I'm afraid that the sentiments I hope to express will come off as insincere or disingenuous. As I'm sure we all know by now, I'm rather stoic with people I don't know well, so expressing any deep feeling, even in writing, feels a bit awkward in contrast with that.

Obviously, I have mixed feelings about writing each of these cards. This probably means that I'll put them off even longer. Sigh.

------------------

I think Gizmo has gone and made me into an animal lover. I never really thought of myself as an "animal lover" the way other people are, and half the time it seemed like the bloody things hated me for no good reason, so animals haven't really ever been a prominent Want in my life.

Nowadays, however, I'll come in the door from the gym or Taiji class, and Gizmo will be sitting there, smiling his little doggie smile, and that doggie smile is just so freaking contagious! It genuinely brightens my day to see how happy he is in my home, and more recently, how happy he is to see me. He has taken to following me around the house periodically--although I think that's at least partly because he thinks I'm going to make food--and it's just really endearing.

It's kind of a bummer that he's already 11 years old, because that is pretty late in a dog's life. He's a small breed--and incredibly healthy, says the vet--so he probably has some good years in front of him yet, but even after the mere month or so that he's been here, the thought of not having a little furry friend around makes me really sad.

Also, oddly enough, when I think about what sort of pet I'd want to have after Gizmo, the first thing that comes to mind is a little dog. Considering that for most of my life, I was all about kitties, and I *never* thought of myself as a dog person, that's a rather surprising change. :)

------------------

Yesterday, I had a quick chat after Taiji class with my Sifu, where I essentially filled him in on my quad tendinopathy problems and how I'm doing physically in general, and he commented at one point that I seemed a little stressed out. I hadn't really noticed it, myself, but I thought about it on the drive home, and came to the conclusion that, yeah, I actually do have quite a bit to be stressed about. Heh.

So, yeah, not only does Sifu have mad skills, but he's really quite perceptive. ^^;;

On a semi-related note, I think my respect for Jet Li just keeps going up the more I read about him: interview in Men's Health! What a guy, indeed!

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:43 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios